So Pumped!

Posted on Updated on

I guess I can use any these words: psyched, elated, happy, & inspired.

Today is an in-service day. All of my colleagues and I have been working hard, thinking, teaching, laughing, and making connections with the kids. We’ve been feeling like we’ve had too much snow, and feeling like we’ve had too much of everything.

It’s just that time of the year when everyone’s sluggish (not to mention, our students started their 5-day break today!).

And then it happened.

My closest colleagues, Dina, Evan and Jerald, and I met together after lunch to talk about our department happenings. Dina and Evan teach art; Jerald and I teach music. All of us are very different, but work really well together.

We began to talk about our Visiting Artist Week - answering questions to what worked well? What didn’t? What can we do better?

And then it kept happening.

What, do you ask? Collaboration of ideas! Four of us actively engaged in lively conversations about integrated curricula for next two years. We were drawing, writing, laughing, smiling, and passion-driven.

This is why I love working with these people. They inspired me to keep going and create art and solve problems together.

I love it that we work beautifully together and make learning fun and excellent for the students.

Here’s a recent picture of us:

How incredibly blessed I am to learn and work with them!

 

N.B. This particular meeting went half hour into our personal learning hour (first time we were given this for in-service day). Since were encouraged to do something for ourselves to either learn or do,  I chose to reflect. It was fun sharing this post with my colleagues during our wrap-up!

3 thoughts on “So Pumped!

    [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Yoon Soo Lim, Murray the Robot. Murray the Robot said: From @DoremiGirl: So Pumped! http://bit.ly/fA99m2 [...]

    Angie said:
    February 18, 2011 at 8:51 pm

    It sounds wonderful to have time to reflect and grow together.
    You are very fortunate to have a team of people that will collaborate together. I’m thinking about your statement that you are all different but you work well together. That must being a richness to your conversations. I think sometimes people become grade partners because it’s perceived they are alike. Does this make for great team building? Sometimes, sometimes not.
    You have me thinking…

    JoAnnJ68 said:
    February 25, 2011 at 8:57 pm

    What a great way to be able to spend time collaborating and growing together. I had just recently read a blog post entitled “You don’t get harmony when everyone sings the same note” so your differences enrich all of you. Happy collaborating!

Leave a Reply

