Speechless

I have so much to say, but I find myself speechless right now.

It’s hard to watch what Japan is going through right now after the earthquakes and tsunami. As I write, many in Japan are holding their breath about the nuclear reactors situation. I know we, Americans, are far away from the East, but one cannot help, but feel for people in Japan.

I invite you to read some posts:

  1. A post by Barbara Hoskins Sakamoto (@barbsaka), an American teacher living and teaching in Japan. Her recent post, Aftershocks 2, is a sober read about what is happening in Japan. Her suggestions for foreigners who wish to help is really helpful.
  2. A Washington Post correspondent, Paul Bluestein wrote this personal post,  Why I’m Not Fleeing Japan on why he’s staying put in Japan.
  3. The last link I’m going to share is by Brad Johnston, a music teacher in Japan. He wrote a post titled, The Big Quake Music Lesson. Due to the earthquake, his school is on a week-long break and posted an interesting music lesson for his students (although they are not meeting face-to-face, many students are checking online for work). I took this lesson and while I discussed recent disaster in Japan with my students, I asked them to consider songs of hope and encouragement for people who are in Japan. Once I gather their links and messages, I will share them with Brad and Barbara.

My thoughts and prayers are with people in Japan!


One thought on “Speechless

  1. Thank you for your kind mention, Yoon! It’s so nice to be connected with such loving, compassionate people. If there’s any upside to this disaster, it’s being reminded that there are many, many people like you around the world!

Leave a Reply

