“Blogs to Watch” Award ~ Pass it on!

When I received a DM (direct message on Twitter) on May 29th from Hadley Ferguson

I had no idea what it was until I clicked on the link she sent me. Hadley had kindly included Sing Imagination to her “Blogs to Watch” list. So this post is an overdue “Thank You” for Hadley. She is an awesome teacher (and she’s a local!) who has a wonderful blog, Middle School Matrix. It is truly an honor to receive this kind of recognition from her! Go and read her blog, if you don’t already. You’ll see why she was on Philip Cumming’s blog recommendation list!

The following are the rules of this award:

  • Copy and display the picture of the award given to you;
  • Link back to the blog that nominated you;
  • Nominate 10 different blogs yourself;
  • Inform the people you nominated, so they can in turn, continue the chain and spread the word about other great blogs out there.

I present to you the list of recommended blogs! Many of these bloggers have become my friends who contribute much to my learning.

(N. B. I thought I’d let you know that all of these are educational blogs (surprise!). I’m also including their Twitter handles so you can follow them.)

Doug, Off the Record by Doug Peterson (@dougpete). Doug can write. It’s not surprising to find 2 or even 3 new great blog posts from Doug in one day. He wonderfully writes about tech integration, education, and life.

Extreme Biology by Stacy Baker (@StacyCBaker) and her students. Yup, one of the beautiful thing about this blog is that Stacy and her students blog about what they are learning. I am always impressed with her students’ curiosity and passion for bio.

iLearn Technology by Kelly Tenkley (@ktenkely). Kelly finds wonderful online gems for elementary education. She also posts about how she is engaging with her colleagues at her school regarding education and technology. She’s a great  “pretty nerd” to follow!

Middle School 101 by Megan Palevich (@mrspal). Megan shares great projects of her Language Arts students. I love reading about her creative approaches that help to connect literature and the lives of Middle School students.

MusTech.net by Joe Pisano (@pisanojm). Joe is a professor at a college in PA who is passionate about teaching and networking musicians. His site is full of resources for all levels of teaching. He has passion for seeing music teachers come together to create an amazing community.

Teacher Reboot Camp by Shelly Terrell (@ShellTerrell) Shelly is enthusiastic about tech integration and collaborative work for students. She is an English language teacher in Germany who is passionate about teaching and helping people around the world to see power in networking. She inspired me to share my students’ work with my network.

Teaching Music in the 21st Century by Brian Wis (@teaching_music). Brian is a music educator who blogs about music education, music technology and tech integration in the classroom. He loves Apple gadgets and writes about interesting finds.

Teaching Village by Barbara Sakamoto (@barbsaka). Barbara is an English teacher living in Japan. I learn about creative ways she teaches her students. She often has guest bloggers on her blog and share her learning that way. She is an avid reader who shares a lot of great resources.

The Principal of Change by George Couros (@gcouros). George is a passionate elementary school principal in Canada. The man can think 100 miles a minute and blog about his thoughts just as fast. He is funny, compassionate, and loves his calling.

The Spicy Learning by Royan Lee (@r_o_y_a_n). With a great blog name like that you’re sure to find lots of spicy topics in teaching, learning, and reflection. I laugh out loud a lot when I’m reading Royan’s posts because I teach students of similar age.

Enjoy!

6 thoughts on ““Blogs to Watch” Award ~ Pass it on!

  1. I am not only honoured that you would add me to this list but with the kind words that you said about me. I am also thankful to be added to a list of such phenomenal educators who I already follow or will be following; I am humbled to be included with them.

    Thanks so much and I will look to do this same thing on my blog!

  2. Yoon…
    Thank you so much for highlighting my blog on your wonderful blog! Sorry for the late reply, but we had no power for 5 days! We escaped to the beach, though! It is such a pleasure teaching with you…I’m so lucky that we can share our love for technology in and out of school!

    Now I’m off to make my blogs to watch list as soon as I get out from under the 5 trees down on our property! I’m sure there is a blog post in there somewhere LOL!

  3. Thanks for the links and for sharing your thoughts about the art of practicing. I agree: The greatest contribution you can make to students’ success is to help them become proficient learners as you teach them the value and importance of practicing. A consistent and rigid series of practice intensifies the chances to meet success and achieve one’s goals.

    Thanks for the links and for sharing your thoughts about the art of practicing. I agree: The greatest contribution you can make to students’ success is to help them become proficient learners as you teach them the value and importance of practicing. A consistent and rigid series of practice intensifies the chances to meet success and achieve one’s goals.

  4. Thanks for the links and for sharing your thoughts about the art of practicing. I agree: The greatest contribution you can make to students’ success is to help them become proficient learners as you teach them the value and importance of practicing. A consistent and rigid series of practice intensifies the chances to meet success and achieve one’s goals.

    Your site is a jam-packed of creative and innovative music teaching resources that would all be useful and interesting to most music teachers out there.

Leave a Reply

