Guitar Video Series 2: Young Guitarists

Just like how I am (joyfully!) learning and being inspired by my peers, my students told me that they also like it when I share some videos of developing young musicians.

I would like to feature two young guitarists today.

Meet Sungha Jung.

First time I watched Sungha on YouTube, he played an arrangement of the Mission Impossible theme. My eyes were glued to the screen watching his small hands rocking the tune in fingerstyle on his huge acoustic guitar. Here is ‘Tears in Heaven’ arranged by Masa Sumide:

This almost-14-year-old South Korean young man has a lot going for him. He has solid technique and is pretty musical (this rendition of Eric Clapton’s song, in my opinion, is one of the most musical pieces he’s recorded). He is somewhat known as a child prodigy or even as “Korean August Rush”. He started playing the guitar at the age of 9 because he thought it would be fun to play like his dad who played the guitar as a hobby. He learned mostly by ear, and was self-taught. At the age of 12, he is sponsored by Lakewood. Interesting that as young as he is, he said in an interview, that he would rather be known as a guitarist than a guitar prodigy. I hope Sungha will keep working on phrasing and pacing of the arrangements he plays – he has a lot of potential! Check out his website. Here is a link to one of his latest original composition, Tree in the Water, which he dedicated his sister.

And now, meet Kimani Griffin. He’s performing part of Sérgio Assad’s “Aquarelle”:

I came across this young guitarist on a great music educational program, From the Top (I will blog about this amazing organization soon. Bug me if you don’t see a post on it soon!!!). Kimani is from North Carolina. As you heard, he is a musical guitarist (can’t believe that I can only find a short clip on YT! Here is the entire musical segment here). What’s interesting about Kimani (other than his name) is that he is a competitive speed skater. How competitive? Olympic-qualifying-competitive. I love it that Kimani’s love for the sport and music is equally passionate and important. Although he is soft-spoken, his musical expression speaks volumes. I tried to find out if he qualified for the 2010 Winter Olympics, but no success. I hope he will continue to work on his musical endeavors. Wouldn’t it be a treat to see him perform live on a major music hall?

Let me know how you are inspiring your students with videos of young musicians!

2 thoughts on “Guitar Video Series 2: Young Guitarists

    1. Thank you, Lindsay, for reading the post!
      I’m glad you’re enjoying the series ~ I love finding resources for my students and sharing!
      If you have additional videos or resources, please share. 🙂
      Cheers!

Leave a Reply

