Sounds of Music #1 – Celebrating December Songs

red-robin

Happy fourth day of December

I still have an hour and a half to wish you this 😉

So what music have you been listening to? Since my last post, I’ve been rehearsing with my students for many performances that will take place in the next two and a half weeks. I’m trying hard to enjoy each day – the challenges and the joys that come with teaching.

I’m posting two versions of Angels We Have Heard on High. One song, two different styles and pacing. I love both renditions by these great musicians.

 

Music teachers, this type of music making would be fun to do with students – play a song taking turns at the piano! Would we dare to open our grand piano at school to experiment using the strings and the soundboard so that just one piano will be “the” band? Yes!

This is an unlikely duet (two guys!), but the color of the their combined voices is like butter. Who would have thought Brian McKnight and Josh Groban? Awesome. I like that these singers reached the song’s climax without compromising the feel of the song. But then again, we are talking about Brian McKnight and Josh Groban! 

Did you like either of these renditions?

I will post more music recommendations for Christmas,

~ @Doremigirl

(Now I say, “Happy fifth day of December!”)

Leave a Reply

