The Road Home

The Road Home 

Michael Dennis Browne

Tell me where is the road I can call my own,

That I left, that I lost, so long ago?

All these years I have wandered,

Oh when will I know

There’s a way, there’s road that will lead me home?

After wind, after rain, when the dark is done,

As I wake from a dream in the gold of day,

Through the air there’s a calling

From far away,

There’s a voice I can hear that will lead me home.

Rise up, follow me, come away is the call,

With love in your heart as the only song;

There is no such beauty as where you belong.

Rise up, follow me,

I will lead you home.

This poem is the text to Stephen Paulus’ The Road Home. My Chamber Choir will be singing this for a concert in a week. Each singer is digesting these beautiful words and working on musical phrases. The music sounds simplistic, yet provides so much depth; the text seems so straight-forward, yet so profoundly reflective and vulnerable.

There is no such beauty as where you belong…

May the love in my heart be the only song…

Leave a Reply

