New Year Challenge: Sound Illustration

Happy 2014!

I hope your new year is off to a fabulous start!

I enjoyed a much needed break. During the two-week break, I came across a cool photo journal app, that got me to start a new daily photo journal. I’m enjoying seeing daily pics and enjoying the stories that accompany the images. I’m glad to take part in Blipfoto community!

This morning, I came across an interesting challenge by Cathaber who invited her readers to post their daily pictures with an appropriate soundtrack. For me, image + story + soundtrack = perfect!

Today’s blip is about cold, cold winter. It snowed about 7-8 inches overnight. This would not be that big a deal except that the local newscasters announced that our area is colder than Alaska right now!

So I got to think about what soundtrack I’d accompany my blip today. As I do for many of my classes, I just started listening to music and started making a “Winter” playlist….so here is the selection I made for many new winter songs I came across.

I’m tagging some people who are always listening to music and thinking about teaching connections:

@stepanpruch

@nobleknits2

@royanlee

@malynmawby

@reed_man

@TriToneJones

@scott_watson

For the friends I mentioned (or other readers): I invite you to start a daily picture-a-day (365 project) so that we can do it together. If this is too much 😉 I invite you to tweet or let me know if you write a post with a soundtrack that describes your day. I wonder how many soundtracks and songs we can track throughout the year. Life seen through music, doesn’t it sound just beautiful?

My blip post is here with my playlist!

Here’s to a great year full of music!

~Doremigirl


2 thoughts on “New Year Challenge: Sound Illustration

  1. LIfe is almost always seen through music for me. I was loving listening to Stuart McLean’s winter music show (curated by his awesome music editor) on the Vinyl Cafe yesterday, and then we went snowshoeing on a friend’s property in the afternoon….all this has Megan Smith’s “It Snowed Last Night” bopping through my brain.

    Thanks so much for the challenge – I won’t make the daily – that’s just too big a commitment for me, but I will endeavour to post with soundtrack for me. I’m thinking about doing a TourBuilder project with my students in French class, and now I want to figure out how to let them attach music to it.

Leave a comment